Best Thai Grilled Chicken Recipe by Kanchana Rubino

Quick Thai lesson for today: ‘chicken’ is called Gai, and ‘to grill’- Yang.  

So I wanted to share with you my Gai Yang recipe today. I have been meaning to post it for quite a while now, so I am glad I could do it finally! As it is getting sunnier, warmer and beautiful here in Southern California (as it is most of the year!), it is time to get serious about BBQ again. This recipe is a part of the menu of my Thai cooking lessons. However, it is not so widely known yet and is not requested often as much as I like to share it. It is quite easy to make and above all, the flavors explode with every single bite you take. The secret is in the Cilantro roots, which you can find if you buy your cilantro at a farmer’s market. I usually buy cilantro there and what I do is cut off the stem with the roots and clean the dirt off with a pairing knife under the sink. scrub off as much dirt as you can. Then, pat them dry, put them in a zip top bag and freeze. They last months in the freezer. You can also use it when you make home-made chicken stock for a great aroma. Very mmm mmm good!  

Your friends and family will absolutely love this recipe, I promise! I probably cook this for gatherings at least 20 times a year. And it is still exciting! So here is the recipe and I have pictures step-by-step. I hope you will try it when you have a chance to.  DISCLAIMER: I didn’t have a free hand to take pictures of the end product, since I was busy turning the chicken wings. Be sure to use medium heat and to turn them often for crispy skin and evenly cooked meat!!

Black pepper corn to be freshly cracked.

Garlic & cilantro root

Mash garlic with the cilantro roots.

Black pepper, garlic and cilantro root paste.

Make a paste from pepper, cilantro root and garlic.

Fish Sauce

Add fish sauce(1/4 cup) and sugar (1/2 tbsp) to the paste.

 
Sauce & chicken wings.

Add the marinate to the chicken.

 
Marinate

Marinate at least 4 hours before grilling

So, I hope you will like this recipe. It is super easy and tastier than any other chicken marinate I have ever used myself and I think you will agree with me once you have tried. 

Thai it, you’ll like it!

Kanchana Rubino – http://www.sweetbasilinc.com – twitter @kanchanarubino

10 Comments »

  1. Goi said

    I had an honor to try this marvelous, super yummy dish from Kanchana last Sept. Miss it still 🙂 After a session with Kanchana learning easy step-by-step plus tips of how to cook Tom-Yam-Koong (Shrimp Spicy Soup), I’m now my family’s expert in the dish…they just LOVE it!!! Thank you for this recipe, Kanchana. I think it should go great with my Tom-Yam-Koong 😀

    Looking forward to another cooking class with you soon!

    • Thank you Goi. 🙂 I am happy you and your family continue to enjoy the soup and this grilled chicken. Remember it also goes great with the papaya salad. 😀

  2. Art said

    I love Kanchana’s food she’s one of the very best Thai cooks I know. Now I can’t wait to start cooking some of that chicken…. Thanks for sharing.. art

  3. suzicate said

    MMMM…sounds really good. I’m groing cilantro in my herb garden this year. I didn’t know you can cook with the roots. I mostly use mine for salsa. Thanks for the recipe. Can’t wait to try it.

    • For sure! You can also add it to home-made chicken stock. Mash it well and add it to the stock. You will love it! 🙂 Let me know how the chicken comes out.

  4. Kanchana. Thank you for sharing this awesome information. You are taking many of us to greatness by your awesome recipes. You are the best cook ever. I love your blog and website.

  5. Heather said

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’ve never heard of using cilantro roots before, I’ll have to give that a try, since I grow all my own cilantro anyway. Sounds delicious, thanks for sharing!

  6. omg i can’t wait to try this!

  7. […] 28, 2010 at 7:34 pm · Filed under Uncategorized In the post about my Thai Grilled Chicken Wings, I never took or posted the final pictures of the wings, because my hands were occupied grilling […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

