Hidden Gem- Laguna Niguel Farmers Market

If you know me, you have heard me talk about this market tons of times. 😀 Instead of rambling, I will tell you my top 2 favorite shops I love at this market and I will just post some pictures for you. They will say a thousand words- each.

Asian vegetable stand: You don’t know this, but this stand is very very dear to my heart. They have 6-8 kinds of basil ALONE. They have the freshest herbs, vegetables, and lots and lots of dark leafy greens; bok choy, kale, arugula, Chinese broccoli, mustard greens, and so much more. So super good for you, at pretty inexpensive prices, too. I recommend getting here early-9 am- to get the first dibs of all the goodies. They run out of certain popular herbs if you get there late- say noon. The owners are very friendly. They are originally Hmong, which is North of Thailand. So some of them actually speak Thai!!! 😀 Sweet! 

This week, I bought Thai sweet basil (for green curry & chicken and basil leaves), pepper basil (stir fry dishes), dill (potato and dill), cilantro, mint (for mojitos!), and red lettuce leaves. Yumm!

Another one is Mangi Con Amore: Mamma Stella sells Italian home-made pasta, sauces, spreads, cookies and oh, fresh home-made cannolis!! They are sooooo soooooo good!!! Everything is home-made. You can visit her website and see for yourself at www.magiconamore.com. Stella is so lively and charming, you will be greeted with her fully Italiano Buongiorno and a big smile. Her warmth makes you feel like you are not buying food from a shop, but imagine your loving aunt giving you food to take home with you. This week, I bought Spinach ravioli and Salamoia (herbed salt.) She tells you how to cook the pasta and what sauces go well on each of them. Gulp!!! You’ll love Mangi Con Amore. So totally bellissima, my friends. 😉

As promised, I will stop right here and share the pictures of this wonderful market I highly recommend for you to visit. It is at the corner of La Paz and Pacific Park Drive in Laguna Niguel- near Henry’s Market. Sundays 9 am – 1 pm.  

Perfect tomatoes.

Perfect tomatoes.

Rainier cherries.

Rainier cherries.

Strongly onionated!

Strongly onionated!

Lemongrass

Lemongrass. They grow the best I have ever come across.

More fresh stuff!

Stella, the brightest star in the farmers market 🙂 I heart her.

Pluot, blueberries and cherry monster! Is this killer cute or what?!

Flowers selection is huge here.

Pomegranate and apple jelly. Been eyeing this for a while!

Pomegranate and apple jelly. Been eyeing this for a while!

I opened the jar so you can smell the herbs. 🙂

Yummy herb and lemon salt.

So, that is it, my friends. Take advantage of the beautiful weather with fresh fruits and vegetables. You will love it, I promise. 😀

See you there next Sunday!

Ciao bellissima! 😀

4 Comments »

  1. i need to go with you one of these days! so fun!

  2. Ooo I love our local Farmer’s Market too! Buying tasty, fresh produce from there makes me feel all warm inside – It is so difficult to buy produce from the grocery store during the winter months …

    • We are totally on the same page. I feel the same way. 🙂 The energy of people there is much warmer, too. It is one of the happiest place on earth for me. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. […] I go to a few places- 99 Ranch Market off of Jeffrey (5 freeway), little Saigon in Westminster, and Laguna Niguel Farmer’s market which I posted a blog about earlier this month. Although, it might seem daunting to take on this […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

